cantusplanus.at provides information on mediaeval music manuscripts and liturgical books not containing musical notation from Austrian libraries. In the first two phases of the project (2008-2015) the holdings of the Austrian National Library Vienna (the Department of Manuscripts and Rare Books as well as the Department of Music) were tapped.

Detailed information can be found in separate databases. Firstly, the project database (367 data sets and about 14.500 images) of mediaeval sources with notation covers both liturgical and secular monophonic and polyphonic music. It contains complete codices and parts of manuscripts. As an addition detailed descriptions of the complete codices are downloadable as pdf-files.

Information on the many fragmentary sources (675 fascicles with about 2.000 images) are part of a separate fragment data-base. A separate database provides the bibliography to these music manuscripts.

The so called Schneider database (1.658 data sets) provides indications from the handwritten catalogue of music manuscripts by Constantin Schneider (1928), which in addition to the music manuscripts mentioned above contains sources from later centuries as well as music theory and musical-dramatic works. Schneider saw the value in also emphasized conographic illustrations of musicians and musical instruments in the manuscripts of the OeNB.

Another database contains information on the approximate 683 liturgical manuscripts without musical notation from the inventory of the Collection of Manuscripts. The data have been extracted from the TABULAE catalogues (Cod. 1-15.000), the printed catalogues of Series nova (Ser.n. 1-4851 and 9249-9999) and the online-catalogue HANNA (remaining inventory of Series nova).

The databases can be browsed by simple and advanced search.

Several data sets do not only offer basic information on the manuscripts but links to further infor-mation such as the TABULAE-, HANNA- and Series-nova-catalogues, the Schneider-catalogue or the de-tailed descriptions regularly updated and prepared by the project staff.

Further research is offered with the notation database. Ideal for non-musicologists, it shall be an aid to describe and classify mediaeval notations.

The supplement austriaca contains information of liturgical and music manuscripts in other Austrian libraries (more than 3.000 manuscritps and about 8.000 images).

In an (applied) third project phase all music manuscripts in Lower- and Upper Austrian libraries should be catalogued (132 fully notated manuscripts, project title: Medieval music manuscripts in Austrian libraries). Finally, in the scheduled project phase 4 should follow the federal states Steiermark, Kärnten, Salzburg, Tirol and Vorarlberg.

cantusplanus.at stellt Informationen zu mittelalterlichen Musik­hand­schriften und nicht notierten Liturgica aus österreichischen Bibliotheken zur Verfügung. In den ersten beiden Projektphasen (2008-2015) wurde der Bestand der Österreichischen National­bibliothek Wien erschlossen. Berücksichtigt wurden hier die Bestände der Sammlung von Hand­schriften und alten Drucken sowie der Musik­sammlung.

Die Detailinformationen befinden sich in getrennt recherchierbaren Datenbanken. Zum einen die Hauptdatenbank (367 Datensätze und etwa 14.500 Abbildungen) der notierten mittel­alterlichen liturgischen und weltlichen Musicalia mit einstimmigen, einfach-mehr­stimmigen und polyphonen Gesängen. Darin enthalten sind vollständige Codices und Teile von Handschriften mit Notation. Ergänzend werden detaillierte Beschreibungen der Voll­hand­schriften als pdf-files zum Down­load zur Verfügung ge­stellt.

Informationen zu den vielen fragmentarischen Quellen (675 Faszikel und etwa 2.000 Abbil­dun­gen) enthält eine eigene Fragmentdatenbank.

In den Bibliographie- und Gesangsdatenbanken werden weitergehende In­for­ma­tion­en zu den verschiedenen Quellen zusammengefasst.

Die sog. Schneider-Datenbank (1.658 Datensätze) enthält Informationen aus dem handschriftlichen Katalog der Musikhandschriften von Constantin Schneider (1928), der neben den gerade erwähnten Musicalia zum einen auch Zeugnisse aus späteren Jahrhunderten enthält, zum anderen musiktheoretische und musikdramatische Werke beinhaltet. Besonderen Wert legte Schneider auch auf die Inventarisierung von ikonographischen Darstellungen von Musikern und Musikinstrumenten in den Codices der ÖNB.

Eine letzte Datenbank enthält Informationen zu den 683 nicht notierten Liturgica aus dem Be­stand der Handschriftensammlung. Die Daten beruhen zum einen auf den Liturgica-Listen der TABULAE-Kataloge (Cod. 1-15.000), den gedruckten Katalogen der Series Nova (Ser.n. 1-4851 und 9249-9999) sowie dem online-Katalog HANNA (restliche Series-Nova-Bestände).

Neben grundlegenden Informationen zu den einzelnen Codices besteht bei den einzelnen Daten­sätzen die Möglichkeit, über Verknüpfungen zu weiterführenden Informationen zu gelangen. So sind Links zu den TABULAE-, HANNA-, QuickSearch und Series-Nova-Katalogen, zum hand­schriftlichen und bis jetzt unveröffentlichten SCHNEIDER-Katalog sowie zu den detaillierten Beschreibungen der Projektmitarbeiter vorhanden. Letztere werden im Laufe des Projektes sukzessive der Daten­bank hin­zuge­fügt.

Eine weitere Recherche-Möglichkeit stellt die sehr umfangreiche Notationsdatenbank dar. Mit dieser Übersicht (Abbildungen der Hauptneumen) soll vor allem auch nicht-Musikwissenschaftlern ein Hilfs­mittel zur Beschrei­bung und Einordnung von mittel­al­ter­lichen Notationen an die Hand gegeben werden.

In dem Supplement austriaca werden Informationen zu Musik­hand­schriften und Li­tur­gi­ca aus weiteren österreichischen Bibliotheken zusammengefasst (In­for­ma­tionen zu mehr als 3.000 Handschriften mit etwa 8.000 Abbildungen).

In einer (beantragten) dritten Projektphase sollen die Musikhandschriften der nieder- und oberösterreichischen Bibliotheken katalogisiert werden (132 Vollhandschriften, Projekttitel: Mittelalterliche Musikhandschriften in österreichischen Bibliotheken). In der geplanten Projektphase 4 sollen schließlich die Bundesländer Steiermark, Kärnten, Salzburg, Tirol und Vorarlberg folgen.